最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

The scene is set for murder...and Kitty Underhay’s partner has been cast as the killer.

Late summer 1933. After a quarrel with too-plucky-for-her-own-good amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay, dashing ex-army captain Matthew Bryant is nursing his wounds, and a tumbler of brandy, when there’s a heavy knock at the door and he finds himself arrested for murder. The body of aspiring actress Pearl Bright has been found, strangled with one of Matt’s own bootlaces, and the evidence seems to be stacked against him. 

The local constabulary might have locked Matt up, but before they can throw away the key, Kitty hears the news and hies to his aid, determined to prove his innocence. And when her investigations lead her to the home of retired theater impresario Stanley Davenport, and the local amateur dramatics society, Kitty uncovers a web of deceit that stretches far beyond the stage make-up. But Kitty’s digging is bringing her to the attention of the killer. Without her partner in crime-fighting, can Kitty expose them and clear Matt’s name? Or will it be curtains for them both? 

A gripping Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T. E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.  

©2020 Helena Dixon (P)2020 Bookouture

Murder at the Playhouseに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dianne
  • 2020/08/09

Terrific narration brings characters to life

Mysterious cast of characters combined with potential romance makes this a good start to the series. Great writing.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Candy
  • 2020/07/03

Candy

I’ve really enjoyed this series with Matt and Kitty! Hoping for a little more romance between the two in the next book!!

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020/07/31

interesting yet boring at times

more love-romance at times than mystery. was hoping Kitty would grow up a bit. also wishing the age difference would stop being pointed out between the two "love-birdies". makes him a stereotype of a older dirty man cradle robbing while she is a dewy eyed virgin waiting for marriage. ok story, plot used before. Kitty needs to grow up if she is taking over for her grandmother.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stacey R. Gibbs
  • 2020/07/28

Excellent continued series

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! Once again Helena has outdone herself with Murder at the Playhouse. I am so enjoying the series and I am so excited for the next one!

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ED
  • 2021/10/29

That’s a lot of “frisson(s) of electricity coursing through kitty’s back”.

Sorry but the shameless repetition of this and many other apparently favored phrases and words throughout this book series had me rolling my eyes by the middle of book one… and determinedly shaking my head in irritation at present.

Difficult to take such missteps in stride. Can’t help but feel the presence of amateur.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Collective Scribbler
  • 2021/08/04

Murder and mystery at the playhouse

Who would have thought that a playhouse was so full of murder and mystery?
Kitty finds herself in a jumble when Matt is locked up for murder…that’s all I’m going to say. Who is the real culprit? Is Matt innocent or not?
There’s also some interesting developments with Kitty’s mother.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lydia
  • 2021/04/14

Good story, conclusion needs development

This one had a good plot and nicely developed characters, but needed more expository at the end- why was stated but it just felt too abrupt. I also think that Kitty WOULD have definite expectations if Matt kissed her in 1933. Times have changed.

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Chantal Noordeloos
  • 2022/01/21

Nice cozy mystery with sweet characters

I know cozy mysteries are not supposed to be literature, but it’s really such a shame about the writing in this series. The characters are lovely and the storylines are pretty decent, but the writing feels like I’m reading a draft rather than a finished novel. The author has a nice narrative voice, but there is a lot of repetition and other little niggles that a good editor should have caught. I would probably binge read these if the writing was cleaner, but right now I think I’ve had enough

  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • CATS3
  • 2022/01/15

Silly, improbable characters, unrealistic plotting

The author needs an adult editor. The book sounds like it was written with a teen audience in mind but young adult readers deserve better than this.

The amateur sleuth duo of Kitty, who was ludicrously pig-headed about her own safety, and Matt, who was no more than a one dimensional cut out, were unrealistically ahead of the local constabulary at every turn.

The repetition of Irrelevant details which did nothing for the atmosphere nor to move the plot along were inserted with maddening frequency.

The secondary "underclass" characters were made to sound like such obsequious yokels, it made me cringe.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Inishowen Cailin
  • 2020/12/29

loved it.

I love this series. The mystery is always very intriguing and the slow burn romance keeps me hooked on these 2 characters. I'm also really enjoying the secondary mystery of Kitty's missing mother. I've got the next one downloaded to listen to next.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trevelyan
  • 2020/10/26

Very enjoyable!

An enjoyable tale that keeps you intrigued all the way through. Enough hint of romance to keep it interesting but not too sweet. I hope there will be another in the series as each book is proving to be just as enjoyable as the last.
Well narrated but with a few strange pronunciation issues which can be a bit irritating. Editor?

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • VM
  • 2020/08/28

An excellent addition to the Miss Underhay stories

Narration was excellent and brought the story to life. Can't wait for the next installment.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Sal King
  • 2021/10/05

Amazing!!

Absolutley brilliant. I'm hooked and can't wait to find out more about Kitty and Matt's adventures. I hope they get together.

brilliant murder mystery and back story about Matt and Kitty falling in love 😍😍 these characters are bought to life and I would love to see these made into a series or movie xx

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mari
  • 2021/04/17

Fun series.

A really good mystery with some lovely character development. An enjoyable, light, fun series to listen to between ‘heavier’ reads.