最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

The Diplomat's Daughter

A Novel
著者: Karin Tanabe
ナレーター: Joy Osmanski, Corey Brill, Jacques Roy
再生時間: 13 時間 2 分
カテゴリー: 洋書, Fiction

30日間の無料体験後は月額1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another.

During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, 21-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas internment camp. She feels hopeless until she meets handsome young Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families but discover that love can bloom in even the bleakest circumstances.

When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the United States Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front - and, he hopes, a reunion with Emi, unaware that her first love, Leo Hartmann, the son of wealthy of Austrian parents and now a Jewish refugee in Shanghai, may still have her heart.

Fearful of bombings in Tokyo, Emi's parents send her to a remote resort town in the mountains, where many in the foreign community have fled. Cut off from her family, struggling with growing depression and hunger, Emi repeatedly risks her life to help keep her community safe - all while wondering if the two men she loves are still alive.

As Christian Lange struggles to adapt to life as a soldier, his unit pushes its way from the South Pacific to Okinawa, where one of the bloodiest battles of World War II awaits them. Meanwhile, in Japanese-occupied Shanghai, as Leo fights to survive the squalor of the Jewish ghetto, a surprise confrontation with a Nazi officer threatens his life. For both men, Emi Kato is never far from their minds.

Flung together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people will collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA Today) storytelling, Karin Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history.

©2017 Karin Tanabe (P)2017 Simon & Schuster Audio

カスタマーレビュー

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mona-Alisa
  • 2018/01/12

Wartime Love Story

I’ve listened to every modern WWII historical fiction book I can find. There are only two I will not forget. All the Light We Cannot See and the Diplomat’Daughter.

Most western books tell the story based in Europe. This one tells of a story about America’s history of interning the Japanese-Americans and nationals and German-Americans and nationals. Then proceeds from there to life in Japan during the war. There are glimpses of life in China.

I can easily picture this as a movie. Certainly there would be interest to WWII fiction aficionados due to the rarely told part of the Japanese experience.

Lovely coming of age story of Emi Kato, daughter of a Japanese diplomat who has lived in the West until the war sends her home to Japan, a home she hardly knows.

13人中13人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • R. C. Autrey
  • 2018/04/03

Scratches the surface of love and war, but...

This book seems to scratch the surface of love and war, but never really elicited any real emotion. I personally didn’t feel any real depth in this book. There wasn’t anything that really made me think deeper about such an important time in history. It’s definitely more of a love story than a historical one. I really wanted more insight on Japan and the internment camps, but everything felt really rushed and glossed over. Also, the narrator that did Leo’s character was literally emotionless. In scenes that required screaming or panic or anger, they instead were almost done at a whisper. The narrator’s energy never changed regardless of what was happening! This may have played into my lack of connection to the book. I don’t know. All together though I felt the story was just lacking.

9人中9人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • 2017/08/09

Excellent

A deep understanding of what the Japanese, and Americans went thru during world war II on a personal level. Very well written, keeps you coming back for more. I will read more from this author.

5人中5人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shelly Dee
  • 2018/07/23

Excellent!

THE DIPLOMAT'S DAUGHTER: I just re-read some of the reviews on Goodreads and have to wonder how anybody could rate this anything other than five stars. Yet they have, which makes me wonder about THEM and not this amazing story. I do not think the wars were trivialized as one reviewer said. I have no idea if it is historically accurate down to the nitty gritty, but close enough to my mind. Excellent "listen" and the narration was superb.

2人中2人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Callio
  • 2019/02/14

Book Likely Better if Read.

I listen to a lot of WWII fiction and I appreciate varied points of view and settings which this novel provides. And I think the story was strong. I thought the geographical and social traction the Japanese diplomat afforded his family was clever as it offered up believable scenarios and glimpses of many WWII circumstances and location issues. But the novel was renenered less impressive by the weak narration. None of the narrators impressed me nor ever became the characters they played. Their voices were monotone. Joy Osmanski, whom I've enjoyed in the past (The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane), didn't do the British or Austrailian accents well and so they lost credibility for me. And Corey Brill and Jacques Roy have the terrible habit of not eliminating the salavia they collect when speaking so that one is constantly hearing it in thier prouncination *cringe* Overall, I wish I would have read the text instead. I'm sure it would have been more intriguing and enjoyable, thus my reveiw of the story itself more favorable.

1人中1人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Justicepirate
  • 2018/09/06

Giving it 3.5 stars

This story takes us through the perspectives of three characters during WWII. The first one is a Japanese born woman who has lived and traveled around the world due to her father being a diplomat. Her name is Emi Kato. She is in love with Leo and is so sad to be leaving him, as he is from Austria, a place she had lived in for a time. In the early part of the book we don't really know much about him other than her obsession. As the story goes on we learn much more about his life (more in the second half). The second character we learn a lot about is Christian, who is an American born to German parents. He struggles with life in an internment camp.

This story is filled with passion and love as well as the hatred of people who are of different races. It is also about how a heart can change and how other hearts can have persistence and patience. It is a sad story many times and is not meant for those who are minors. It was well written. The narration on the audio book is well done. I am glad they changed voices based on the narration.

1人中1人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Karen M. Kaplan
  • 2017/07/20

Wrong Title, Good Book

It is not the best book, but it is captivating to be caught up in the lives of three different young adults so devastatingly caught up in a war that has no way of having a happy ending due to the stupid egos and bad decisions of politicians and War hungry lunatics.

9人中5人のお客様がこのレビューが参考になったと答えています。

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine Puma
  • 2018/10/25

Global Perspective on World War II Experiences

The Diplomat's Daughter by Karin Tanabe is a novel set throughout World War II, but it differs from your standard take because the three main characters come from such varied backgrounds. One is an American with German ancestry, one is an Austrian Jew, and the diplomat's daughter is a young Japanese woman whose father is an internationally assigned diplomat. I wish we had seen just a tad more of the diplomat father; I know the book is supposed to focus on his daughter, but to have him hardly mentioned at all made it seem as though his character exists just as an excuse to justify why the heroine should be so well traveled and well-versed in so many languages.

Even so, I think the strongest element to this story is its setting in multiple countries. Most World War II novels focus on concentration camps or ranking military officers, which while imperative to understanding the era, do not embody all human experiences lived during these times. Tanabe uses her characters to shed light on the wartime situation in USA internment camps, Tokyo Japan, rural Japan, and Shanghai as well as military movements in the Philippines towards the end of the war and Austrian unrest at the beginning of the war. Most WWII literature boils down to US v. Nazis or Europe v. Nazis, but Tanabe's work brings home the message that this truly was a Global War.

As such, even though this isn't as iconic as Night by Elie Wiesel or Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, and even though there are some tough bits to swallow, I would recommend this for supplemental high school reading and required reading in a relevant college level literature course. I gave this only 3 stars, however, because the middle was a bit slow and the romance thread a tad silly at times.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Liza Christensen
  • 2018/10/22

The Diplomat's Daughter

A very good listen. A good look into a portion of history that I was not aware of. The suffering off the Japanese, the humiliation of the jews. There bond in war times and the cruelty and selfishness if the Germans. A story of survival .

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Petrea
  • 2018/08/30

I nearly quit. . .

For the first 1/3 of the book, I kept thinking I had bought a young adult novel. Finally, the characters matured, and so did the story. I did find parts of the book intriguing, but not gripping. Worth a listen if you have a credit and 13 hours.

同じ著者・ナレーターの作品