Amazonプライム会員限定、3か月無料キャンペーン中

会員登録し、非会員価格の30%OFFで購入する

2022年7月25日までAmazonプライム会員限定で3か月無料キャンペーン中(プライム会員以外の方は30日間無料)。詳細はこちら。をご確認ください
会員は、12万以上の対象作品が聴き放題、オフライン再生可能
プロの声優や俳優の朗読で楽しめる
Audibleでしか聴けない本やポッドキャストも多数
無料体験終了後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。
¥ 3,100 で購入

¥ 3,100 で購入

下4桁がのクレジットカードで支払う
ボタンを押すと、Audibleの利用規約およびAmazonのプライバシー規約同意したものとみなされます。支払方法および返品等についてはこちら

あらすじ・解説

An ex-cop who cannot die. A moon full of settlers who cannot thrive.

Mahina's terraformers built a high-tech urban paradise. Then Earth flooded the colony with desperate refugees, cop Sass Collier among them.

The settlers who arrived with Sass died decades ago. Outside the citadel, their descendants die weak and young.

Sass fought a rebellion against the city once. She won concessions to give the settlers a chance at health. She paid with 20 years in prison.

Now she’s out, a reformed character. She assembles an oddball crew doing odd jobs. She intends to mind her own business - how to make a profit on the skyship Thrive.

But her fellow settlers are still failing.

While her business model careens toward circus acts, Sass dares to defy the city again, to solve Mahina’s failure to thrive.

Pick up Skyship Thrive because you love upbeat character-driven SF with fun technology. Suggested for fans of Firefly, Lindsay Buroker's Star Kingdom, or Nathan Lowell’s Golden Age of the Solar Clipper books.

©2019 Ginger Booth (P)2021 Ginger Booth

Skyship Thriveに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen
  • 2021/05/27

Mission: ensure humanity thrives among the stars

I loved the Thrive Space Colony series and have read the books multiple times, but there is something magical about hearing the story narrated, that brings it to life. Veronica Giguere is outstanding as the narrator.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Heather
  • 2021/05/15

A good listen

Ginger's attention to details carries over beautifully to the audio format for painting the scene. Don't forget to check http://books.gingerbooth.com/Audio_ST1 for diagrams to help further illustrate the ship and how time passes.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Richard
  • 2021/05/19

This book got me hooked on Ginger Booth.

This book was as fun to listen to as it was to read. Booth's sense of humor comes through in both mediums. Sass, the protagonist is a strong leader but knows how to depend on others. The author's work in biology and environmental science has helped create a new world full of human beings adapting to non earth circumstances. It does not read as hard science fiction which is good because I enjoy works focused on the society they encounter. Sass goes from isolated to leading a group of individuals from different groups in her world. Booth does educate me on the the impacts of environments on human development which is a definite positive given our current climate change. Veronica Giguere's performance creTed the world I saw in my head when I read the print version with only a few exceptions; a feat I find remarkable. All I can say is get the rest of this multivolume series on audible quickly. Readers will not want to stop with this one volume.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • FWO
  • 2021/05/16

Light Hearted and Entertaining

This is a story that brings together a crew of unlikely personalities and a motley one at best. Ms Booth has written another book that takes on the issues of a failed earth and what happens because of it. But, for every dark there is light. For those who like the Guardians of the Galaxy, you will enjoy this book immensely. Through all the trials of post-apocalyptic situations there will always be those who just need to lighten it up and have fun. You have those of whose life gives them the ability to experience the situations through all its changes (think of Groot), captains who say, “let’s enjoy this while we can” and a crew who says “Let’s have some fun” in the vain of “Who’s line is it anyway?”

Who builds a slide in a starship? How about a vegetable stand that looks like a mushroom? You will find the answers to these very intriguing questions and more. The book delves into the lighter sides of darkness, into the consequences of our lack of common sense, and the inevitable question of why would you jump from a perfectly good starship. If you need to take a break from the “we’re all going to die” type of the apocalypse to the “we’re all going to have some fun in the meantime”, sit back, grab your favorite beverage, watch the sun go down, and have a great time.

Listening to this after all this time and books in the series was a great refresher. I also forgot about the whimsical references to a couple of classics.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C. B. Schindel
  • 2021/05/12

Fun story, excellent narration

As a long time fan of Ginger Booth, I throughly enjoyed Skyship Thrive when I first read it. It has a cast of wonderfully quirky but believable characters in a thoughtfully imagined setting. I am delighted that it has received the first class audible production which it deserves. Veronica Giguere does a splendid job of creating distinctive voices for each character without making them sound cartoonish. Her diction is clear and easy to listen to. All in all, a first class audible book in every regard. Note that this review is based on a pre-issue copy provided by Ms. Booth.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brett B Tofel
  • 2021/05/01

Engaging dramatization of an awesome series

Love deep characters with flaws and strengths who win you over with their intelligence and humor? Love imagining humanity trying to make it, far away from earth? Start here. Veronica Giguere's dramatization brings both the inner conversation of Sass, budding starship captain, and all the rest of the characters, to life, with great voicings. You're in for a treat starting Ginger Booth's Thrive series here, it's still being written and it ties back to her other series about how humans got into this mess.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stanley C. Black
  • 2021/07/17

Love the Thrive books

I forgot how much I loved this first book in the Thrive series. Now I’ve read all 12. Great reads.

  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • cuz
  • 2021/07/17

hard to understand

would have like to listen, but couldn't understand the narration, muffled and hard to hear. Tried reloading, didn't help.

  • 総合評価
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Richard Nielsen
  • 2021/09/23

Almost good

I really wanted this novel to work. The premise is good. Regarding Thrive, as an editor once told me, the characters are all dressed up and have no where to go. The story plods along with little suspense and action. The chapters don't end in hooks and many scenes were pedantic descriptions with little if anything actually happening. I kept waiting, wanting for *something* to happen. Sass acquires a well-used ship--okay. She acquires a quirky crew and social influencer who's kind of a ditz. This brought the hope l but didn't make it. Sass is the reluctant hero which is a favorite subject, however, the story barely pulls her along. It's almost as if she wants to be in another story. The dark protagonist was a jerk, as they should be, but lacked depth. Sass's emotional or physical range isn't pushed to any extreme. There's no real peril for Sass other than arrest and a character falling off of the Thrive. The final chapters tie everything up with a yawn. Ginger Booth is a good writer but really needs to let loose for the Thrive series to work. Sass & Company just need to be freed from the bounds of mediocrity.
I'll listen to the next one as many first novels in a series are just getting their footing with the following books ramping up in
quality.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mike Sump
  • 2021/09/11

Funny and likeable characters? It's a no-brainer.

I read this book when it first came out, and I jumped at the opportunity to listen to it in audio. It was a fun read, but the book via Audible is fabulous. Veronica Giguere’s portrayal of the potpourri of characters makes them come alive in your mind. I hope that this partnership can continue and that Ms. Giguere will so enliven the rest of Ms. Booth’s “Thrive Spacecraft Adventures.”

The author has created an interesting and complicated world, and she has populated it with a cast of interesting--if offbeat--characters that you’re sure to like. She’s a master at dialogue, her scientific postulates are sufficiently plausible, and she’s funny. Funny and likable characters? What more do you want?

I admit that I’m biased because I love all of Ms. Booth’s work, including her original dystopian series (the Calm Act; Feral America), which consists of a dozen or so books focused on a divided and desperate America, struggling to maintain a civilized society in the midst of devastating climate change. I think they’re well written, entertaining, and thought-provoking—and thus are important!

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021/10/11

slow warm up, but worth the listen

The beginning was a bit slow, but after getting half way, I got a sense of the world and relationships. The story is just getting started.