最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月額1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

She stole a powerful artefact. He resurrected an ancient evil. They are mortal enemies, and only one can survive...but both of them may be doomed in this heartrending saga of intrigue and betrayal.

When orphan Harper takes a legendary Dragonheart, she unwittingly signs her own death warrant. Searching for the elven king's missing Dragonheart is his ruthless spymaster Dimitri - who has his own secret agenda to revolutionise the Kingdom of Pelenor - but the Dragonheart is only the beginning.

To further his cause, Dimitri raises a revolutionary from beyond the grave. He realises too late that he did not raise an ally...but a dark, ancient power, hell-bent on revenge. And Dimitri is bound to his cause.

Trapped and thrust into the middle of rising conflict, Harper and Dimitri are forced to ally to survive. When Harper unexpectedly uncovers her identity, the truth will pit all against her, for Harper holds great darkness within her. Yet, she is the crux to prevailing against the oncoming cataclysm.

War comes for Pelenor. The Dark One will have his dominion. The ultimate sacrifice will be required - but who will give it, and will it be enough?

Resilience and the strength to stand in the face of adversity is tested in this powerful epic fantasy series of morally grey characters, loyalty and romance, betrayal and intrigue, and a desperate struggle against impending devastation that has left thousands wanting more.

The Chronicles of Pelenor is perfect for fans of Sylvia Mercedes' Venatrix Chronicles, JA Andrews' The Keeper Chronicles, and Elise Kova’s Air Awakens, who love richly woven sagas of characters striving to overcome adversity from within and without, against a backdrop of an epic-scale world that comes alive as you listen.

This is a complete series collection including Heart of Dragons, Court of Shadows, Order of Valxiron, and Mark of Fate.

©2019 Meg Cowley (P)2020 Meg Cowley

Chronicles of Pelenorに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021/01/18

Well worth the listen

Enjoyable from start to finish. Well worth a credit. Four solid sword and sorcery books in a satisfying collection.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Doctor Dude
  • 2021/06/05

A solid story with good narration.

I definitely felt like I got my money's worth out of this book. I mostly just listen to books during my commute, this books story was compelling and I listened at home too.

  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Kyle M.
  • 2021/04/06

horrible narrator

narrator speaks far to quickly with a very breathy voice making it incredibly difficult to understand couldn't stick with the book for 3 minutes

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • David Munch
  • 2021/04/25

Pretty standard young adult fantasy

Spoiler free series review

The Chronicles of Pelenor quadrilogy, written by Meg Cowley, is a young adult fantasy series that depict the experiences of the young girl Harper during her experiences in a foreign world. The kings spy master, Dimitri, unleashes an old force upon the world, and Harper finds out that she has connections that she didn’t know of.

The series tell of an epic tale, that is overall finely written. There are good dialogs, a diverse set of characters, and a plot that isn’t too complex.

My biggest problems with the series are the shallow character portrayals, a lack of descriptions and accompanying world building, and quite badly written action.
Many of the characters are quite shallow and that especially goes for the bad guys who are plainly just evil for the sake of evil. The main character, Harper, is quite unlikeable in my humble opinion, and I didn’t really care for her at all. Nothing that she does seems to help her learn, and while she develops physically over the series, she doesn’t seem to acknowledge it at all. There’s a good set of side characters, but unfortunately they are just that, side characters. The spymaster though, is by far the most interesting one.
Most scenes are accompanied by short descriptions, but I was always asking for more to really set the book apart. It is a complete phenocopy of Tolkien’s Middleearth, so you should not expect anything outside of what is in his books, which is a real pity, and it makes for a series that is quite unremarkable.
Also, the action is not very well written. Most of it is written from a descriptive narrators point of view, so there’s a strong lack of tension with regards to all characters involved. The author even goes as far as writing an action section with literal “swish, slash, stab” etc., which is horrible writing! I really hope he improves in this area.

Overall, it is a pretty standard fantasy tale with a contained plot, which would could have been quite a bit more with some good beta readers to correct for the authors shortcommings. It does not break any novel ground at all, but if you like a young adult fantasy series that is easy to follow, then this is an acceptable pick.

I listened to the audiobook, which was narrated by Jack Voraces. He did an overall excellent job, with great distinct voices for different characters and thoughts, randomly added accents, and clear narration that moved very well in pitch with the written text. Very enjoyable, and I felt he added a lot to the story!

I received this audiobook for free in return for a review. I have no affiliation with the author, the narrator, the publisher, or their pets (Although I am sure the latter are quite nice!).

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dwharfe
  • 2021/02/20

Good fantasy & lots of it!

If you like long fantasy then you'll get it here. The story is good and engaging.
The narration reminded me of the very lifelike algorithm-made voices that you can get to read text aloud. Have a listen to the preview. If you like... this book will be a great (and big!) buy.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021/06/15

nope

no no no terrible can't understand how anyone gave this a positive review sorry but its just awful. the narrators accents made me cringe the story line is obvious and going no where it would probably suit a double digit inttellect... maybe. ive never returned a book but this might be the first

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rob Farnell
  • 2021/03/26

Very derivative, but enjoyable

I did enjoy it, but found the writing style very annoying for a audio book. The voice actor was very good and had definitely done his homework with the Yorkshire accents.
Overall worth the money for the amount of content and found it an easy enough listen.