最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

Fourteen years ago Stella did something she has regretted ever since. But she did it for her daughter. Now, that mistake could mean she loses her precious girl forever....

Stella follows her handsome husband Rob to the beautifully laid-out table in the restaurant he’s chosen specially for her 40th birthday lunch. As the waiter pops the champagne, Rob proposes a toast and their crystal glasses clink together in celebration. Stella knows how they must look to anyone watching. Two people very much in love, with the perfect marriage and the perfect life.

But Rob is about to drop a bombshell on Stella. He wants a divorce.

If she doesn’t agree to his plan - to sell the house, divide the money, and award him full custody of 14-year-old Georgie - he will tell their innocent daughter the one secret he promised to keep and that Stella has worked so hard to protect her from.

Stella has a choice to make. To fight for her daughter, there is only one person she can turn to for help. A woman she hasn’t spoken to in over a decade. But to do it means facing up to her biggest regret, and she risks losing Georgie forever once she learns the truth....

An absolutely heart-breaking and gripping novel about the price of keeping a secret. Fans of Amanda Prowse, Kate Hewitt, and Susan Lewis will be gripped by this emotional family drama.

©2021 Ali Mercer (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

同じ著者・ナレーターの作品

The Marriage Lieに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KatrinaD
  • 2021/10/16

A wonderful book about relationships, secrets and resolution

This is a novel exceptionally enjoyable, well constructed and thought-provoking.
Yes, it’s what I call “chick-lit”, but of the highest quality. Ali Mercer has created a rich tapestry of characters, situations and scenes. It starts with “The birthday surprise” a brilliant introduction to the failing marriage of Rob and Stella. I found Rob unbearable and sadistic while Stella appears to be weak and occasionally impulsive. But as the story progresses, Stella shows courage and dignity while dealing with multiple crises. Her sister Molly, the aunt and birth mother of Georgie remains a a cipher until the end of the novel when her secret is revealed. The two sisters finally bridge the distance between them while revisiting the past through photos of the past.
As a result they can together reveal to Georgie the circumstances of her birth and adoption. Stella and Molly are free of the burden of this secret.
Rob’s obnoxious hold on Stella is dissolved, leaving Stella free to continue her growth as an independent woman and a supporting mother.
I love the conclusion of the novel when Georgie gradutes


  • 総合評価
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Beth C.
  • 2021/08/16

Boring and Depressing

I regretted wasting a credit on this book and was very tempted not to finish it. A depressing book can be entertaining and interesting, but found this to be neither!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • L. Gerde
  • 2021/07/08

interesting Ending

Great story with a good storyline and unpredictable ending leaving you feeling very satisfied.The

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah
  • 2021/07/02

“I said “

Quite a good book and I did listen to it to the end but the constant “I said” a second or two after every comment the main character uttered was annoying. I would have rated the book higher if it wasn’t for this.