最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月額1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

A completely nail-biting crime thriller

"Mama, wake up." The little girl reached for her mother’s face with one pudgy hand. But the eyes stayed closed, and the blood continued to trickle across the floor. 

When the body of a young woman is found, tied to her bed and the victim of a brutal attack in her own home, Detective Morgan Brookes is sickened by what she finds as she searches the house. And unprepared for the nightmares it inspires about her childhood.

When the DNA collected gives a positive ID, Morgan can’t wait to put the attacker behind bars. But the person it matches to is already in prison. How could the DNA of someone who has been locked up for over 20 years have shown up in Morgan’s crime scene? And then they make another close match. To Morgan herself. 

Faced with the impossible proof that she is somehow connected to this case, Morgan delves deep into the crimes of a killer who stalked the Lake District two decades ago. But distracted by the old case, she misses the signs that he has found a new victim. And when he strikes close to home, Morgan finally realizes that she has been living on borrowed time. To find this killer, it’s clear she must confront the nightmares in her past....

A heart-racing, nerve-racking crime thriller. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Patricia Gibney will be completely gripped. 

©2020 Helen Phifer (P)2020 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

The Killer's Girlに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Maine Knitter
  • 2021/06/09

Good edition to the series

Although I’m still a little stymied by the fact that Morgan joined CID after 2 days on the job and that she seems too smart (except for those times she’s not at all smart) to be real, I like this series. This book kept my interest from the beginning.

The narration is good and adds to the story.

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dawn S
  • 2021/06/09

Could have been good

I feel the author did a plot twist as an afterthought leaving the book to not make sense in the end.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cassie
  • 2021/05/30

Good and Bad

I enjoyed the first book in this series and was excited to get this second one. I will say I did enjoy it and it kept me listening to the end! The narration fit the story and I really don't have anything negative to say about that! The story itself started out great and took and steady decline by the end. I feel like who Taylor is, was very obvious from the beginning. The end of the story had me rolling my eyes..

SPOILERS AHEAD!!
I was excited for another detective series to follow along with but I really feel like the offspring of a serial killer turned cop/detective is very played out. I have read several other series with the same plot twist. This is overdone and the last chapter of this book REALLY had me rolling my eyes. I was excited there was a third one coming out and I will still read it. BUT I will be disappointed if the series turns into Morgan's Dad escaping from prison and going after Ben and Morgan. I hope I'm wrong because there is no creativity there. I will update my review after the release!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021/04/16

OMG!

I loved this audio book. After they mentioned the DNA familial match I thought I guessed it. I guessed half of it, and the way this one left off, I CAN’T wait for the next one!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tammi Damm
  • 2021/03/18

Morgan Brooks is great!

Loved the story and couldn't believe who the killer was. Can't wait for the next book. This is one of my favorite authors and narrators. Enjoy!

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    2 out of 5 stars
  • haley overby
  • 2021/03/12

Predictable

It took me a very long time to get 'into' this book.
To begin the narration is difficult to listen to, although it's not the worst I've heard, and I follow and enjoy many British, UK, and general European books and series (probably why they recommended it to me in the first place).. The narrator's breathy whisper in your ear and her awful British accent only works for the bad guys and Ettie... But I guess it gets better and you eventually get used to it.
Furthermore, I knew who the killer was almost immediately, and there's so many ignorant assumptions made by the "detectives" that its very difficult to believe... Additionally, it's very hard to believe that the scene medical examiner could 1) down right without any hint of doubt claim the manner of death without first performing an autopsy ((i.e. Stan) it's one thing to make an educated guess and say that you think that is the manner of death, but will need to confirm, and another to look at a body for 0.1 milli seconds and know...), and 2) not see that the DNA from the scene samples were obviously from a male, not from the female detective...
Also, I hate that the author brings in the blatant stereotype of the"fiery red head"...
This story was too obvious with no mystery for my liking... maybe if I haven't read so many good books before it, it wouldn't be so bad...
Better luck next time I guess.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen S.
  • 2021/01/03

Wow wow wow

Like with the first book In this series twists and turns . Very much Hoping there will be many more with detective Morgan Brookes

Amazing story line and with Alison Campbell doing the narration 10/10

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Teresa Harwood
  • 2021/06/04

Excellent

An excellent storyline, I was totally engrossed from the first chapter. Detective Morgan Brookes is investigating a brutal murder but DNA found at the scene is linked to a killer already behind bars. When the DNA also shows a close match to Morgan herself her world is in turmoil. What is her connection to the killing? Finding out will put her in deadly danger. Really looking forward to the next in the series.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mrs. Me Mills
  • 2021/04/25

Wow

Brilliant story and characters...well worth the read I’ve read three series Lucy harwin, Beth adams and now Morgan brooks and enjoyed them all but can’t wait for the 3rd book to come to audio in the Morgan brooks and of course live to see the other series continue but by far my favourite so far is Morgan brooks series and looking forward to many more reads