最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

When a killer’s podcast reveals more than the truth....

Esme is a start-up success who runs her own successful media company and heads up a series of investigative podcasts. She also has a beautiful home, where she lives with her sister, Michelle, and her son, Zachary. Sure, there’s an ex-husband hanging around - Owen likes to pop round a bit too often - but everything is civilised and amicable. She has life all tied up.

But Esme knows that any successful podcaster is only as good as her last story, so she sets out on a new series of interviews to get to the truth behind Simone Fischer’s high-profile murder of her husband. Self-defence, crime of passion or coldly pre-meditated?

She emerges after one jail visit to discover that her sister has been viciously attacked and is in a coma. And so begins the unravelling of Esme’s life. Where she thought there was trust and loyalty, she slowly discovers deceit and betrayal. No one is quite who they seem - not even her closest family. 

As the podcast interviews plunge deeper into revealing the unnerving psychology of a murderer, Esme must try to keep her own sanity intact. The truth - about Simone and Esme’s own family - is there, if Esme can only find it. But will her investigations reveal more than she ever wanted to know?

This taut psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Serial and Kathleen Barber’s Truth Be Told.

Please note: audio for this title was replaced on 3rd March 2021

©2021 KL Slater (P)2021 Audible, Ltd

同じ著者・ナレーターの作品

The Evidenceに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marisa
  • 2021/02/14

One of Slater’s best.

The Evidence was great. I had to binge-listen to it because I could barely turn it off. The suspense and twists were fantastic and the characters were interesting, plus great writing and narration and you have a winner. Highly recommended.

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Tawny
  • 2021/03/22

Too Little Too Late ⏰

No spoilers:
Unfortunately, what could have been another great book from KL Slater fell flat for me because it was so 🥱 worthy for the first three quarters. I have listened to audiobooks that had terrible narration or cringie storylines that annoyed me, but very rarely am I bored by anything.

To end on a high note, the book actually ended on a high note. It wasn’t like driving from Texas to Colorado where you gradually get clues about what’s to come; It was more like taking a bus fro
Dallas to Austin, then jumping in a jet plane from Austin to Chicago. There I was, listening to this entire book contemplating giving up because it all seemed thrown together with no connections, and BAM 💥 ...there we wereI

I really didn’t have high hopes based on the Lackluster reviews and absent seven Thesy as him, so I can’t say I am overly disappointed. The ending might make it worth the credit, but only if you’re a patient person.

**The performances are not getting a standing ovation from me, although the main character is easy to listen to and I have no complaints with her.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Matthew Preblick
  • 2021/07/04

Second best K.L. Slater ever!

This was damn near the perfect book with the perfect read. It just had one fatal flaw - the reading of that child. Or the writing of the child. Maybe it was both? Never has there been a more repetitious insufferable child ever in existence. If I had to hear that same set of phrases one more time I would have pulled my hair out. I might not ever have children now.
Awesome read though.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MareG
  • 2021/03/06

Great story

I loved this book, Clare Corbett is an amazing narrator. The only small thing I didn’t like was the narrator of the character, Justine. I just didn’t like her accent.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A. Stowe
  • 2021/09/11

Outstanding story and production

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery and good character development. The production is very enjoyable with podcast episodes and effects embedded in the audiobook. It’s a good story with twists and holds your interest throughout.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021/08/10

Audio volume too low.

I liked the book and the narrator was great, but the overall volume was too low. Even at highest volume, I had a hard time hearing her voice.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Meghan M, N.J.
  • 2021/08/09

good read

I liked the book a lot. great narration besides Justine but it does not take away from the book. also the kid is so unlikable lol

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RLeaD
  • 2021/07/15

Triggering

Wow. Exceptionally well done. If you have unresolved gaslighting issues, the real kind, you might find this to be a bit triggering. I had to stop quite a few times. That being said, I felt that way because she nailed it. Pretty cool that there were sound effects during the podcast. Not something I’m used to, it made me feel like I was listening to one of the old radio programs.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sterling
  • 2021/10/24

dark, twisty turny

Great storyline. did not see the end coming! great character development. I wanted to keep listening.

  • 総合評価
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LakeFront
  • 2021/02/24

Not bad . . . Just Not Great

The beginning is rather clever and engaging, a podcast within an audible book. The middle part with its multiple backstories feels draggy and somewhat disjointed, then I just kept waiting to get on with it and get to the end already to see how everything was supposed to come together. Part of the issue for me was the narration - her monotone voice sometimes rambled into more of a "mumble" and with the added British accent, I found myself going back multiple times to replay what was just said - particularly true if you listen like I do, with my device in part of the room I'm in, and not up close like in the car or with headphones. Overall, I didn't dislike the book, it has its moments . . . just wasn't wowed.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • The Glamizon
  • 2021/02/12

A binger!

This is what I call a binger, keeps you up all night cause you can't put it down.

Interesting plot line that bends and weves and keeps the old noggin working all the way to the end. Even if you think you know who done what, you have to find out just how that who dunnit.

I have only 1 low star rating and thats unfortunately due to the second narrator. What were you thinking? Its an awful match, made even more excruciating by the main narrator who is spot on. The mind boggles at where the selection process went with this one.

That aside, great story, keeps your interest xx

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Samantha R
  • 2021/02/15

Decent enough story and Clare Corbett fantastic

Okay story, twisty and bingeable enough. Great work by Clare Corbett as always. But what on earth is with the second female narrator. It’s like like listening to Meryl Streep working with a random am dram group lead. So embarrassing. She can barely get each word out. Ruins it.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • John D. Brooks
  • 2021/02/16

Awful narrator for Justine

Another great story by K L Slater but the character of Justine is narrated so poorly it's offputting.

  • 総合評価
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lucy Rafferty
  • 2021/02/16

Awful second narrator

I enjoyed this book but at the point where the second narrator had a large part, I switched off, cannot listen to another second! It’s like she can’t read! And totally out of character with weird accents finding their way into sentences, such a shame as main narrator is fab!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Weliza
  • 2021/02/13

Good listening

K L Slater always writes a good story. Easy to get into and a satisfyong ending.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hannah Hartop
  • 2021/02/19

Great story. Shame about the narration.

This was a really great story. I couldn’t turn it off. The second female narrator is SO jarring though. I nearly had to turn it off and skip her bits! Such a shame, but luckily the main bulk of the narration was fantastic.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Daisokie
  • 2021/02/19

Good story

Good story with excellent narration by Clare Corbett (who sounds like there’s a whole cast of characters in the room) and the lady voicing Simone. As for the other female narrator, she sounded like a silly voice from Monty Python or the Goons. What an extraordinary choice.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021/02/14

Brilliant!!!

Have enjoyed most of kl slater books and this one is definitely one of the top listens. Look forward to more👍👍

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Sellers
  • 2021/02/19

Brilliant story - disappointing 2nd narrator

A great story - and a very good first narrator. For some reason the second narrator "Justine" is laboured and has style more suited for children's storytelling. I did find on these shorter passages speeding up the narration to 1.1 x much improved it! Maybe the problem is with the production/ editing. A shame as the narrator has very clear diction.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jojo
  • 2021/02/16

Couldn’t put down.

Only book by this author I’ve been able to guess the ending, but that’s because it’s true to life, so any other wouldn’t have made sense.
Still, not disappointed as many twists and turns throughout the book, making me curse aloud at the character’s revelations. Would highly recommend as with all KL Slater books. Can’t wait for the next.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • elizabeth b.
  • 2021/04/14

Horrid people

If my world was filled with characters like in this book I’d beg to get out of this story.
The women are weak lily livid with no qualities of strength. Where the men are horrid.