最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月額1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

One by one the girls disappeared....

When the frail body of a teenage girl is discovered strangled in a parking lot, shards of ice form in Detective Natalie Ward’s veins. As Natalie looks at the freckles scattered on her cheeks and the pale pink lips tinged with blue, she remembers that this innocent girl is somebody’s daughter.

The girl is identified as missing teenager Amelia Saunders, who has run away from home and her controlling father. Natalie’s heart sinks further when it becomes clear that Amelia has been working on the streets, manipulated by her violent new boyfriend, Tommy.

A day later, another vulnerable girl is found strangled on a park bench. Like Amelia, Katie Bray was a runaway with connections to Tommy, and Natalie is determined to find him and track down the monster attacking these scared and lonely girls.

But when a wealthy young woman is found murdered the next morning, the word guilty scrawled on her forehead, Natalie realizes that the case is more complex than she first thought. Determined to establish a connection between her three victims, Natalie wastes no time in chasing down the evidence, tracing everyone who crossed their paths. Then, a key suspect’s body turns up in the canal, a mole in Natalie’s department leaks vital information and everything seems to be against her. Can Natalie stop this clever and manipulative killer before they strike again?

A crime thriller from a best-selling author that will have you sleeping with the light on. This gripping roller-coaster ride is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Rachel Caine. Prepare to be totally hooked!

©2020 Carol Wyer (P)2020 Bookouture

同じ著者・ナレーターの作品

Somebody's Daughterに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020/09/13

great series

excelent naration by Diana Croft
she brings the books alive
love the twist and turns of Carol Wyners books

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AddyJacks
  • 2020/09/02

Man O Man

I love Carol’s writing; this is a brilliant book that had me hooked from the prologue. I hope to enjoy Natalie’s investigations for a lifetime. Highly recommend ALL the Detective Natalie Ward books!

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara
  • 2020/08/13

A Story That Resonates Today

Carol Wyer has created an intricate and intriguing story. The underlying topics of homelessness and mental illness resonate in today's climate.

Newly promoted DCI Natalie Ward is working through the challenges of a blended family with her partner, Mike, when she's thrown into a complicated series of murders. Are they the work of one killer, or are they random. Natalie assigns the case to recently promoted Lucy, who is not only struggling with her own issues, but is unsure of herself as lead Investigator.

As the case progresses, the team finds themselves involved in department politics, the world of the homeless, sufferers of mental illness, drugs, and prostitution.

I had a few suspects at the beginning, but learned I wasn't close to solving this case. There were some great twists in this story and I was hooked till the end.

Diana Croft did an excellent job as narrator.

  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Journey
  • 2020/07/17

Don't waste your time.

Not worth ordering. Could not stay with it. Story was predictable and needed more excitement.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Maine Knitter
  • 2020/07/16

Emotional

I couldn’t wait to order this book as soon as it was released.

Do not start the series with this book. Start at the beginning to get the backstories of the major players.

Natalie is now a DCI so she has to leave the investigation to Lucy and the team. But we know Natalie won’t stop taking part. Sadly, multiple murders occur and trying to find a connection keeps Lucy’s team on their toes. I say sadly because I felt sadness at these crimes. In a short time, Carol Wyer made me care for the victims. Most of them at least. And as the story wrapped up, I felt sadness at the ending. Real sadness. I’m still upset.

There was a message here, too, about mental illness and homelessness.

Again, Diana Croft did a fine job with the narration.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KarenThornton
  • 2021/05/27

If you are not already listening to this series...

You really should. This entire series is fantastic. I always buy the next chapter immediately. They are gritty and real, with excellent characters and narration throughout.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Charlotte
  • 2021/02/02

Carol Wyer never disappoints

Another cracking read, edge of my seat following DCI Ward's adventures in Stamford. Great book!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SVB
  • 2020/11/30

gripping

love this whole series and I'm looking forward to the next installment.
easy listening and great narrative

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fee
  • 2020/07/24

Enjoyable

This seemed to revive a series I felt should have come to an end. I’ve said it before and I know it’s churlish, but for me it’s off putting and that is the voice of Mike, it doesn’t match his description and makes him sound like, a not very bright, old man!

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. Bell
  • 2020/07/17

Gripping storyline as always from Carol Wyer.

Plot twists mixed with personal lives, makes a fantastic read. Can't wait for next instalment!

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    2 out of 5 stars
  • 匿名
  • 2020/07/16

Uneven storytelling

Although I am glad to have read this next book in the series, I was disappointed with the storytelling. The characters seemed overly cliched and the ending quite unsatisfying. Personally I would sack Lucy who seems like a petulant and incompetent DI. Not up to the author’s usual standard.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sandra
  • 2020/07/17

Okay

Been a wonderful series so far but I found this instalment tedious. Way too much irrelevant relationship back story that dragged the narrative down. I hope the pace picks up if there is another in the series.