Audible会員プラン登録で、12万以上の対象タイトルが聴き放題。

会員登録し、非会員価格の30%OFFで購入する

無料体験登録で、12万以上の作品が聴き放題に
オフライン再生可能
プロの声優や俳優の朗読で楽しめる
Audibleでしか聴けない本やポッドキャストも多数
無料体験終了後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。
¥ 3,600 で購入

¥ 3,600 で購入

下4桁がのクレジットカードで支払う
ボタンを押すと、Audibleの利用規約およびAmazonのプライバシー規約同意したものとみなされます。支払方法および返品等についてはこちら

批評家のレビュー

"A powerfully moving and thought provoking read. At times sublime, strange and deeply human." (Adrian Tchaikovsky, best-selling and award-winning author of the Children of Time series)

"Haunting and luminous.... An astonishing debut." (Alan Moore, creator of Watchmen and V for Vendetta)

"Sequoia Nagamatsu is a writer whose imagination is matched only by his compassion, the kind we need to light our way through the dark." (Chloe Benjamin, best-selling author of The Immortalists)

あらすじ・解説

Bloomsbury presents How High We Go in the Dark by Sequoia Nagamatsu, read by Jason Culp, Stephanie Komure, Micky Shiloah, Joe Knezevich, Brianna Ishibashi, Kotaro Watanabe, Matthew Bridges, Kurt Kanazawa, Greg Watanabe, Jeanne Sakata, MacLeod Andrews, Keisuke Hoashi, Brian Nishii and Julia Whelan.

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, Sequoia Nagamatsu's debut is a wildly imaginative, genre-bending work spanning generations across the globe as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague.

Dr Cliff Miyashiro arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue his recently deceased daughter’s research, only to discover a virus, newly unearthed from melting permafrost. The plague unleashed reshapes life on earth for generations. Yet even while struggling to counter this destructive force, humanity stubbornly persists in myriad moving and ever inventive ways.

Among those adjusting to this new normal are an aspiring comedian, employed by a theme park designed for terminally ill children, who falls in love with a mother trying desperately to keep her son alive; a scientist who, having failed to save his own son from the plague, gets a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects - a pig - develops human speech; a man who, after recovering from his own coma, plans a block party for his neighbours who have also woken up to find that they alone have survived their families and a widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter who must set off on cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead, How High We Go in the Dark follows a cast of intricately linked characters spanning hundreds of years as humanity endeavours to restore the delicate balance of the world. This is a story of unshakable hope that crosses literary lines to give us a world rebuilding itself through an endless capacity for love, resilience and reinvention.

©2022 Sequoia Nagamatsu (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

同じ著者・ナレーターの作品

How High We Go in the Darkに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Audiobooks Nest Reviews
  • 2022/02/21

High Praise for this Darkest of Tales

🧡 Haunting, powerful, magical, poetic, all the positive hyperbolic adjectives apply. That’s just the kind of story this is. And it’s not just one story. It reads like an anthology of disparate tales voiced by a variety of characters in varying settings. Even the genre doesn’t stand still, shifting from futuristic and sci fi to supernatural to drama and even humour.

💛 All of these elements are connected by the gossamer thread of existing in the same world - one scarred by a terrible disease. And as the narrative progresses, the thread draws the stories together.

💚 I knew this was a pandemic/post apocalypse story, but as I often do, I went in without any further info. Had I read the blurb, I might have been prepared for the devastating sadness and poignancy of the park for dying children or the absurd but touching story of the talking pig.

💜 There are times when things feel aimless. As though the narrative is floating untethered. It’s also difficult as a listener to adapt to a new character each time. But it’s worth it.
__________________________________________________
SOUNDBITE

🎧 This is a stunning audiobook. It works incredibly well for the format, not least because it’s obvious the production was so carefully considered. A cast of narrators makes it much easier to transition from one story to the next. What’s more - a small but significant factor - the chapter headings are properly signposted.

🎧 Most of these narrators are new to me. All, in fact, except Julia Whelan, who was a big draw for me in listening to this and did not disappoint. The performances are excellent and drew me in every time.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr Webb
  • 2022/02/16

Great

Narration good. Great book after a slower start. Great title which I'd highly recommend

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sara
  • 2022/06/30

Original take on the genre

This (audio)book surpassed my expectations and was a far better story than I expected.
It is a study on grief and collective trauma from so many angles, it made me reflect on a recent loss of my own and other post-pandemic ripples.
I found this book a refreshing take on the disaster/end of the world genre I’ve listened too and look forward to exploring more by this author.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah King
  • 2022/06/20

Ambitious story, very imaginative

Some of this was very enjoyable. I enjoyed some chapters much more than others. Each chapter is almost a standalone story, and as you progress through the story you find links between characters and the history described. The last chapter is excellent and very thought provoking.
Hats off to the authors imagination, at times I felt he was trying to pack too much into this book and it was slightly all over the place.
At times I considered giving up, but I have a rule never to do this so I persevered.
On balance it was pretty good.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022/04/27

Something else!

Oh so kind of sad and somewhat relatable, engaging the mind.. in a world of countless possibilities. This is definitely something else..

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kat Robinson
  • 2022/04/11

Sublime

As a voracious reader it takes a lot to really make a book stand out. How High We Go in the Dark is truly special. It couples outstanding storytelling with a dystopian future that is totally credible.
It also brings in incredible elements of the fantastical, and a wonderfully relatable take on the human condition.
I will never forget this book. It’s a must read.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022/03/24

reminded me a lot of black mirror

was an interesting and eery medley of tales linked together through a sci fi plague. interesting concept and right level of dark and sensitive. quite cruel at times. original.

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Allen Mortimer
  • 2022/02/03

not for me.

I just didn't engage with the storyline , even though it was an intertwined concept, it just didn't come together for me.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022/05/23

Stunning

This is right up there with my favourite of all time. It is haunting, imaginative and beautiful all at the same time.
If I could give it more stars I would.

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cameron
  • 2022/01/13

Heartfelt, Intricate, and Humanizing

**spoiler alert** I loved this book. I went into it knowing very little, having got it off a 'books to look out for in 2022' list on GoodReads. It was harrowing and hit close to home reading it during a pandemic of our own, and I can't describe how emotional some of the chapters made. I cried a fair few times throughout it, but the chapter that got me the most was that of Fitch and the Oasis Coaster.

I struggled initially with the final chapter as I'm not a huge fan of using aliens as an explanation for the plot, but once the author started weaving that into all of the previously told stories it made me really in awe of how throughout and intricate the storytelling is.

This is a type of book I have never found anywhere else. It was a beautiful deep dive into grief, death, community and love and I am so pleasantly surprised and happy I stumbled across it.

  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • 匿名
  • 2022/04/05

very intriguing

I did love this but it was tricky to follow and at times a bit dry. I think it's almost like reading a non fiction, so I'd have to read again.