最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月額1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

あらすじ・解説

From top-10 best-selling author Ella Carey comes a stunning Second World War novel. The glitter, glamor, and danger of 1940s New York collide in this dazzling story about a young woman striving to survive in a world where everything is set against her. 

War forces her to choose a side....

1942, New York. As war rages in Europe, Lily Rose is grateful for her perfect life: a wealthy family who love her and a dream job working uptown as a restaurant chef. Times are changing for women, and Lily is determined to run her own kitchen one day. She hopes handsome Tom Morelli, son of Sicilian immigrants, will be at her side. Together they work late, dreaming up delicious meals for New Yorkers struggling with wartime rationing and the threat of sons and sweethearts being called up....

Then Tom receives a devastating telegram that changes everything: He is drafted to fight in Italy. Suddenly alone, Lily turns to her parents for support. But when her mother finds out about Tom, she is furious. When the war ends, Lily’s duty is to marry the man picked for her, keep house and raise children. They give her a heartbreaking ultimatum: End her relationship with Tom, or lose her family and inheritance forever.

In the middle of the war, Lily is left in an impossible position. Will she choose to stay with her family and live the safe life she has always known, or will she follow her heart and her dreams?

An emotional novel, inspired by true events, about the courage, love, and friendships that will see you through war and tragedy. Fans of Fiona Davis, Rhys Bowen and The Nightingale will be captivated.

©2021 Ella Carey (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

A New York Secretに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    2 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2021/04/05

I was so excited about this book but I must say Ella’s previous books are better.

I have read and listen to all of Ella Careys books and have enjoyed all of them.

After reading and listening to many WwII books I’m sorry to say this just seemed to be fluff. I did rate as 4 starts as I know she is a very good writer and I has enjoyed all of her books. Looking forward to next book in series.

I had a hard time with the narrator. She seemed to really over emphasized words. Not sure if it was do to the time the book took place and the way people spoke then or just the narrators reading . I had to increase the speed of narration to get through the book.

  • 総合評価
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Carmen Gibson
  • 2021/06/28

Narrator Ruined It

I enjoy all Ella Carey's books. This one was a flop. I've already purchased the Kindle version of this book and book 2 in the series. I'll hope to find time to read them. so far this book isn't up to her usual. To make it worse the narrator was not suited for this story. I can usually speed it up or did it down to find something bearable. But not with this one. Please don't judge here writing on this audible... her other books are great!