最初の1冊は無料。今すぐ聴こう。

30日間の無料体験後は月会費1,500円。いつでも退会できます。

OR
カートに追加済み

批評家のレビュー

"A feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good." (Jodi Picoult)

"Compelling, complicated, timely, and smart...a full-hearted, unflinching indictment of a broken system and in so doing tells a story hard to put down and hard to forget." (Laurie Frankel, best-selling author of This is How It Always Is)

"This is a story that will stick with you for a long time." (Emily Giffin, number-one New York Times best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted)

あらすじ・解説

A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love can change two families' lives forever. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng.

In Oak Knoll, a tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door - an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition and a secretly troubled teenage daughter. 

With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard. 

But as they fight, they fail to notice that there is a romance blossoming between their two teenagers. A romance that will challenge the carefully constructed concepts of class and race in this small community. A romance that might cause everything to shatter....

©2019 Therese Anne Fowler (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

A Good Neighbourhoodに寄せられたリスナーの声

カスタマーレビュー:以下のタブを選択することで、他のサイトのレビューをご覧になれます。

レビューはまだありません。
並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2021/01/12

5 stars all the way

I would rate this book one of the best I've read in nearly a year. The narrator was excellent.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Punam Madan Patel
  • 2021/02/01

Excellent story

Really interesting development of the protagonists relationship and the underlying currents at home. How tragic the ending is but bittersweet....

  • 総合評価
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janet Freebury
  • 2020/07/15

Amazing book

Loved this book from start to finish.. highly recommended it to friends and family.. beautifully written.

並べ替え:
絞り込み:
  • 総合評価
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah A
  • 2020/07/25

Believable

This book is definitely worth a listen. The story is easy to get into and the narrator has a gentle, easy flowing voice. She manages to define the different characters but just changing her voice slightly for each one and not putting on harsh accents or over the top character voices. You find yourself believing that this could really happen in the neighbourhood she describes. With this said, even though I know life isn't always rosie, I would have loved a slightly happier ending. Can't say any more about that as I don't want to spoil your read! An easy listen, without being too hard to concentrate on.
Sarah

  • 総合評価
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ナレーション
    1 out of 5 stars
  • ストーリー
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Ryan
  • 2020/03/30

Victimhood Narrative

A leap too far as far as credibility goes but will likely strike a chord with those wallowing in fantasies of persecution under the warm cloak of victimhood.